About

divider
divider

The infinite is there to be embraced by those who dare to look up to the stars, and who grasp the multidimensional possibilities that life has to offer:

Uwe Fahrenkrog-Petersen is one of Germany’s most successful composers, musicians and music producers, with a glittering international reputation. He has sold more than 35 million discs worldwide and been honoured with more than 60 Gold and Platinum awards.

He laid the foundations for fulfilment of his life’s dream in his early youth through hard work and daily practice with his first Berlin bands, which were inspired by the hard rock and glam rock genres of the 70s. As the proud possessor of one of the first, rare Oberheim polyphonic synthesisers, Uwe became a musical pioneer, introducing a revolutionary new sound to pop music. 

He went on to compose the most successful song in the history of German pop music, the anti-war song 99 Luftballons (English version: 99 Red Balloons), which in 1983 was a hit in 52 countries – a unique achievement in German musical culture. The song is still played regularly on American radio and television, in Hollywood films and in commercials and is still today, via every medium, part of the world’s consciousness. 

By his early 20s, Uwe was already exactly where he wanted to be: a rock star on the world’s stages. His career breakthrough came with the legendary pop rock band NENA, with whom he toured the world, and for whom he wrote all the best known NENA hits including Nur geträumt (Just a Dream), 99 Luftballons (99 Balloons), Irgendwie, irgendwo, irgendwann (Anyplace, Anywhere, Anytime) and Leuchtturm (Lighthouse).

German fans might still think of him as their pin-up boy from the 80s but, after the NENA band split, Uwe continued to leave his footprint on the international stage, touring Europe with his New York-based glam rock band Voodoo X, and then working as a composer and producer of studio hits with local artists in cities as far afield as Los Angeles, Tokyo, Paris, Moscow and Singapore.

In his music career Uwe has not only composed numerous chart-topping hits, but has worked successfully internationally in all branches of music from hard rock to pop and world music, from musical theatre to Hollywood film scores (“Igby Goes Down” with 2 Golden Globe nominations and “All the Queen’s Men” by Oscar winning director Stefan Ruzowitzky). In Germany he is also known as a TV presenter and juror of the first music casting show Popstars, with which he was nominated for a BAMBI.

Uwe has a feel for music that transcends time and space, and his writing has a huge emotional range that expands the listener’s horizons and expresses itself in memorable, sweeping melodies – the connecting element of all his compositions in different genres. 

His dedication to such a variety of musical styles, and his collaboration with so many different international artists (from KISS to Justin Timberlake to KODO) has helped define Uwe’s innovative approach – the way he combines musical elements in new and original ways. A quality that has largely been lost in the mainstream music charts of recent years. 

Uwe is currently returning to his creative roots – his passion for rock music (Walhalla Unlimited), synthesizer sounds (New Atlantis Project) and as composer and creative producer of contemporary musicals including Wüstenblume (Desert Flower), scheduled for a premiere in 2020. 

Uwe is currently based in his home city of Berlin, where he lives with his wife Christin Dechant and their two daughters.

About

divider
divider

Unendliche Weiten – fühlt derjenige, der es wagt zu den Sternen aufzuschauen,
dann begreift er mitunter, welche mehrdimensionalen Möglichkeiten das Leben bietet:

Uwe Fahrenkrog-Petersen ist einer der erfolgreichsten Komponisten, Musikproduzenten und Künstler Deutschlands, der auch international viel Anerkennung erfährt. Weltweit hat er mehr als 35 Millionen Tonträger verkauft und hat dafür mehr als 60 Gold- und Platin-Auszeichnungen erhalten.

Er legte den Grundstein für seinen Lebenstraum schon in frühen Jugendjahren durch hartes Arbeiten und tägliches Proben in seinen ersten Berliner Bands, die vom Hard- und Glamrock der 70er Jahre inspiriert waren. Mit einem der ersten und damals noch sehr seltenen polyphonen Synthesizer von Oberheim wurde Uwe zum Pionier und brachte einen bisher noch nie dagewesenen, revolutionären Sound in die Popmusik.

So komponierte Uwe später den erfolgreichsten deutschen Popsong der Musikgeschichte, den Anti-Kriegssong „99 Luftballons“, der 1983 in 52 Ländern zum Tophit wurde. Das ist einmalig in der deutschen Musikkultur. Bis heute wird der Song regelmäßig in bekannten amerikanischen TV-Produktionen, Hollywoodfilmen sowie Commercials verwendet und ist medial weltweit allgegenwärtig.

Bereits mit Anfang 20 war Uwe dort, wo er immer hin wollte: als Rockstar auf den Bühnen der Welt. Der Karrieredurchbruch gelang ihm mit der legendären Pop-Rock-Band NENA, mit der er nicht nur rund um den Globus auftrat, sondern für die Uwe alle heute bekannten NENA-Hits („Nur geträumt“, „99Luftballons“, „Irgendwie, irgendwo, irgendwann“, „Leuchtturm“ etc.) komponierte.

Doch während ihn viele Fans hierzulande oft nur als ihren Schwarm und ihr Idol aus den 80igern kennen, tourte Uwe nach der NENA-Bandauflösung mit seiner Glam-Rock Band „Voodoo X“ von New York aus weiter durch ganz Europa und ging anschließend als Komponist und Musikproduzent nach L.A., Tokio, Paris, Moskau und Singapur, um mit dortigen Stars im Studio Hits zu produzieren. So hinterließ er erneut seine Spuren überall auf der Welt.

In seiner Musikkarriere hat Uwe nicht nur viele Nr. 1 Hits komponiert, sondern in allen Bereichen der Musik von Hardrock bis Pop und World Music, von Musical bis Hollywood Filmmusik (“Igby Goes Down” mit 2 Golden Globe Nominierungen und „All the Queen’s Men“ von Oscar Winning Director Stefan Ruzowitzky) international erfolgreich gearbeitet. In Deutschland  kennt man ihn außerdem als TV-Moderator und Juror der ersten Musik-Castingshow „Popstars“, mit welcher er für den „Bambi“ nominiert wurde.

Uwe hat ein Gespür für Musik, die Zeit und Raum verlässt und kreiert ein weites emotionales Gefühl, das den Blick für das große Ganze öffnen soll. So entstehen seine bekannten und mitreißenden Melodien, die besonders einprägsam sind: das verbindende Element all seiner Werke in vielen verschiedenen Genres.

Die Tatsache, dass Uwe bereits an den unterschiedlichsten Musikstilen gearbeitet und mit so vielen Künstlern weltweit kooperiert hat (von „KISS“, „Justin Timberlake“ bis „KODO“), führt zu seinem innovativen Musikstil, mit welchem er die musikalischen Elemente zu Neuem und Unentdecktem verbindet. Eine Eigenschaft, die im Mainstream der Musikcharts der letzten Jahre größtenteils verloren gegangen ist.

Aktuell kehrt Uwe zurück zu seinen kreativen Wurzeln – in der Liebe zur Rockmusik („Walhalla Ultd.“), in der Synthesizer-Musik („New Atlantis Project“) und als Komponist und Kreateur zeitgemäßer Musicals (Wüstenblume“, Erstaufführung in 2020).

Uwe arbeitet derzeit von seiner Heimatstadt Berlin aus, wo er mit seiner Lebensgefährtin Christin Dechant und ihren zwei gemeinsamen Töchtern lebt.